Backloads

General chat, news, views, jokes, moans, questions and anything else that doesn't fit on the other forums.

Backloads

Postby Darren Petherick » Tuesday 1 December 2009, 17:06

Hi all - i have just started running a small van from devon up to bootle four night a week and am wondering what is the best way to find backloads? Do i ring around all the local couriers each night or is it easier to find work on a cx style website and if so which would you all recommend as i have never used one before? Many thanks, Darren
Darren Petherick

Postby bramble43 » Tuesday 1 December 2009, 18:30

Phoning round every night could become a real nightmare, might be best to call or better call into couriers in the areas and tell them what you are doing, leave a card and just call once a month after that as a reminder

Could have a look at http://www.shed5.co.uk or http://www.courierworld.co.uk

There is also cx among others, seems a bit expensive but if it brings in some regular loads it's worth it,
Motorcycle courier, same day / direct / timed, Nationwide and across Europe - Contact details on profile. Call or text for a quote.
bramble43
Site owner

Postby Anonymous » Wednesday 2 December 2009, 10:37

i also wanted to join cx and the lady told me £350 per year upfront.It's far too expensive.
Anyone here had experience with them?Is it worth joining for £350 a year?
Anonymous

Postby Stuart Farrington » Wednesday 2 December 2009, 10:59

Have a look at Shed 5, it's an inexpensive option and is run by Mike who runs this forum.

Somebody who I sub for sends his job details and purchase orders to me by email & SMS via CX. When he first did this I started to receive calls from them trying to sign me up. In the end I e-mailed them and asked them to take me off their marketing list which did the trick, there was no way I'd join them as they are far to expensive IMO.
Stuart Farrington
Tel: 07849 986340
email: stuart@stuartfarrington.co.uk
Follow me on twitter