hanging up my city tracker

Gripes, moans, whines and complaints - get it off your chest!

Postby Brian Hague » Saturday 12 November 2011, 11:07

I know it may have been said before but this is aimed at other mewbies like me :!: i have done work for c**y s****t it did not take me long to notice more ££ going out than comming in. they offered me a job with 130 mile round trip with only 50 miles loaded at 45pplm, when i did not accept on the machine they called me to see why my responce was sorry but I cant afford to pay for your deliverys. The responce i got back was THATS WHAT THE BUSINESS IS well it may be there type of business but not mine,my point being I CAN SIT AT HOME AND NOT PAY THE BILLS. I dont need to add to them by paying theirs too.
Brian Hague

Re: hanging up my city tracker

Postby garryhallam » Saturday 12 November 2011, 12:19

As a Newbie myself, I can empathise with you. You soon learn that Courier work is not all that you thought it was. I have to admit that the loaded mile rate I get is higher than what they are paying you there. Depending on load it works out at 65p or 75p for me. The problem I am finding is that I am sat about most the day just waiting for the phone to ring at around 3 or 4 pm. Then the jobs are mostly runs into the city Centre, when the traffic is at its worst. They have 30 mins collection times that they constantly push you to achieve. The stress level is just too much for my liking. Then as a newbie you of course don't know most the places you are sent.

Its Saturday Morning now and the Office out of hours number has been ringing me constantly which I have just been ignoring.

They try to keep you sweet by throwing in a job from Manchester to London or Glasgow every now and again.

I do like driving and my thoughts are now turning to doing something else. Maybe a delivery driver for an Engineering company or something similar.

I guess it suits some but not everybody.

Good luck with whatever you try next.
garryhallam